WKU Football earned its 10th preseason awards recognition Tuesday morning, as quarterback Mike White was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List, the All Sports Association announced. He is one of 108 FBS student-athletes to be listed as initial candidates.
It is the third honor in the past week for White, who also appears on the Maxwell Trophy Watch List and was voted the Conference USA Preseason Offensive Player of the Year by the league’s coaches.
The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually. Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the award honors the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.
As expressed by a FEATURE ARTICLE released a few weeks ago, White is a shining example of what it means to be a leader on and off the field. Between the lines, he ranked in the top 10 nationally in completion percentage (67.3, eighth), passing yards (4,363, fifth) and touchdowns (37, eighth), while boasting the third-best passer rating (181.4) and the second-best yards per attempt mark (10.5) in 2016.
In the Bowling Green community, White has spent time volunteering with such programs as the Special Olympics and visiting elementary schools to promote the importance of reading, having a good attitude and working hard in the classroom. During the spring semester, the team combined for 640 community service hours as a part of the Hilltoppers With Heart program.
Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities’ sports information departments. Semifinalists for the award will be announced Nov. 2 and finalists will be announced Nov. 22. The formal presentation of the 2017 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation’s press conference Dec. 5 in New York City.
Hilltoppers on National Watch Lists
DB Joe Brown: Jim Thorpe Award (Top defensive back)
P Jake Collins: Ray Guy Award (Top punter)
OL Dennis Edwards: Rimington Trophy (Top center)
WR/PR Nacarius Fant: Paul Hornung Award (Most versatile)
K Skyler Simcox: Lou Groza Award (Top kicker)
WR/KR Kylen Towner: C-USA Preseason Special Teams POY
DB Marcus Ward: AFCA Good Works Team
QB Mike White: C-USA Preseason Offensive POY, Maxwell Award (Top player), Wuerffel Trophy (Community service)
How to Follow the Hilltoppers: For complete information on WKU Hilltopper Football, follow the program via social media @WKUFootball on Twitter and Facebook.
Bryan Fyalkowski
Assistant Director of Media Relations
WKU Hilltopper Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here