Mallory Comerford had three wins in the second day of the SMU Classic but the Cardinals women’s swimming and diving team fell a half point short of the win, finishing second in the six team field.
Southern California won with a score of 331, Louisville was second with a score of 330.5, followed by Michigan (322), UCLA (239.5), Miami (230), and SMU (209). The Cards were second to Michigan a year ago with USC ranking third.
“It was a great weekend of high level competition,” said Arthur Albiero, UofL head coach. “More importantly, we saw good progress from our returners compared to the 2016 SMU Classic. The format of this meet mimics a championships feel and our group competed very well in every single event.”
In the first event of the evening, the Cardinals won the 200 Medley Relay. The foursome of Alina Kendzior (24.61), Mariia Astashkina (28.17), Grace Oglesby (23.58) and Lainey Visscher (21.95) combine forces to go 1:38.31.
Mallory Comerford won the 500 free with a time of 4:39.24 in the Championship heat. She was a full second ahead of Michigan’s Rose Bi, who was second in 4:40.37. Arina Openysheva took second in the consols with a 4:44.05.
In the 200-breaststroke, Mariia Astashkina posted a time of 2:09.34 to touch second in the Championship heat. Riley Scott of USC was first with a 2:08.20. Rachael Bradford Feldman was third in the consols with a 2:12.92 in a very fast heat.
In the 200-backstroke, UofL’s Alina Kendzior was third with a time of 1:53.78. Louise Hanson of USC won the event with a time of 1:52.25. In the consols, Casey Fanz was fifth, touching in 2:00.81.
In the 100-free, Mallory Comerford took first with a time of 47.00 in the Championships heat. Lainey Visscher was second in the consls with a time of 49.19.
In the 200-butterfly, Grace Oglesby took second with a time of 1:55.05. The event was won by USC’s Maddie Wright. In the consols, Alina Kendzior won with a tie of 1:58.01.
In the 3-meter springboard, Molly Fears was fourth with a score of 255.95.
In the championship heat of the 200-IM, Rachael Bradford Feldman was third with a time of 1:57.55. The event was won by Louise Hansson in 1:55.90. In the consols, Mariia Astashkina was fourth in the consols with a time of 2:00.17.
In the final event of the evening, Mallory Comerford (22.04), Lainey Visscher (22.38), Arina Openysheva (22.22) and Casey Fanz 22.08) combined for a time of 1:28.72 for the win in the 200-free relay.
Nancy Allison Worley
Associate Director, Sports Information
University of Louisville Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here