Senior defensive back D’Montre Wade has been named as a first-team FCS All-American by Phil Steele Publications. Wade’s selection Friday represents the 53rd overall All-American honor for Murray State football and the 42nd individual to earn the prestigious title. In addition, it also marks the 21st time a Racer has been named as a first-team All-American.
The Columbia, Tennessee native led the OVC in interceptions on the year with six and finished second nationally in interceptions per game with 0.6. The redshirt senior also added 33 tackles, 2.0 tackles-for-loss, and seven pass breakups.
He is now just the eighth player in school history to garner at least six receptions in a single season and the first since 2004. In addition, Wade finished his time in blue and gold as the program’s career leader in pass breakups with 35 and passes defended with 45, since those two categories begin being kept in 1994, and ninth all-time in interceptions with 10.
All-Time Murray State Football All-Americans
1933    Cecil Kent, B
1936    Bill Thompson, B
1937    Elmer Cochran, G
Dale Diebert, E
C.W. Hardin, C
Bill Thompson, B
1938    Dale Diebert, E
Pete Gudauskus, T
Claude McRaven, B
1940    James “Peanuts” Johnson, OL
1955    Al Giordano, G/LB
1956    Al Giordano, G/LB
1962    Gary Foltz, E
1973    Don Clayton, TB
1977    Eddie McFarland, DB
1979    Terry Love, DB
Glenn Jones, LB
1980    Glenn Jones, LB
Terry Love, DB
1983    Dane Coleman, DE
Herbert Jones, S
Jim Piercefield, DE
1984    Dane Coleman, DE
Colby Schreckengost, OT
1985    Lee McCormick, WR
James Yarbrough, DB
1986    Willie Bester, DE
Stanley Howard, WR
Charlie Wiles, G
Tony Woodie, OLB
1989    Eric Crigler, OL
1993    Anthony Hutch, DL
1995    Derrick Cullors, RB
William Hampton, DB

Anthony Hutch, DL
1996    William Hampton, DB
Rob Hart, K
Reggie Swinton, WR
1997    Ronnie Merritt, LB
1998    Marcus Stepp, DL
1999    Brian Bivens, P
2001    Shane Andrus, K
2008    Austen Lane, DE
Nathan Williams, LB

2009    Austen Lane, DE
2010    Marcus Harris, WR
Dontrell Johnson, PR
2011    Casey Brockman, QB
2012    Casey Brockman, QB
Walter Powell, AP
2013    Walter Powell, AP
2014    Pokey Harris, KR
2017    D’Montre Wade, DB




Parker Griffith
Athletic Media Relations

by Parker Griffith


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here