Northern Kentucky men’s basketball standout Drew McDonald was named to the Lou Henson Award Mid-Season Watch List. The junior forward was also on the award’s preseason watch list.


The award, which will be announced at the Awards Event in San Antonio on March 31, 2018, is given annually to the top mid-major basketball player in NCAA Division I.


Lou Henson coached for 41 years and accumulated 779 Division I wins, which ranked sixth all-time when he left the game in 2005. Henson is also one of only 12 coaches to take two schools to the Final Four.


McDonald is averaging 16.5 points and 8.5 rebounds per game. The native of Cold Springs, Kentucky (Newport Central Catholic), has taken his game to another level over the last seven contests, recording five double-doubles in that span while averaging 18.3 points and 10.7 boards.


Earlier this season, McDonald was selected as the 2017-18 Horizon League Preseason Player of the Year.


2017-18 Lou Henson Mid-Season Watch List 

Josh Braun                  6-4       Sr.        Grand Canyon

Keith Braxton              6-4       So.       Saint Francis

Tookie Brown              5-11     Jr.        Georgia Southern

Devin Cannady 6-1       Jr.        Princeton

Joe Chealey                 6-4       Sr.        Charleston

Chris Clemons             5-9       Jr.        Campbell

Mike Daum                 6-9       Jr.        South Dakota State

Tre-Shaun Fletcher     6-7       Sr.        Toledo

Blake Francis              6-0       So.       Wagner

Tyler Hall                     6-5       Jr.        Montana State

Jerrick Harding            6-1       So.       Weber State

Max Heidegger           6-2       So.       UC Santa Barbara

Kevin Hervey               6-9       Sr.        UT Arlington

Jordan Howard            5-11     Sr.        Central Arkansas

Alize Johnson              6-9       Sr.        Missouri State

John Konchar               6-5       Jr.        Fort Wayne

Nathan Knight             6-10     So.       William & Mary

Jock Landale                6-11     Sr.        Saint Mary’s

Zach Lofton                 6-4       Sr.        New Mexico State

Fletcher Magee          6-4       Jr.        Wofford

Zane Martin                6-4       So.       Towson

CJ Massinburg             6-3       Jr.        Buffalo

Garrison Mathews      6-5       Jr.        Lipscomb

Drew McDonald          6-7       Jr.        Northern Kentucky

Matt Mooney              6-3       Jr.        South Dakota

Chima Moneke            6-6       Sr.        UC Davis

Matt Morgan              6-2       Jr.        Cornell

Emmett Naar              6-1       Sr.        Saint Mary’s

Kendrick Nunn             6-3       Sr.        Oakland

Femi Olujobi               6-8       Jr.        North Carolina A&T

Miye Oni                     6-7       So        Yale

Junior Robinson          5-5       Sr.        Mount St. Mary’s

Victor Sanders             6-5       Sr.        Idaho

Frederick Scott            6-8       Fr.        Rider

Devin Sibley                6-2       Sr.        Furman

D’Marcus Simonds      6-3       So.       Georgia State

Zach Thomas              6-7       Sr.        Bucknell

James Thompson IV   6-10     Jr.        Eastern Michigan

Reed Timmer              6-1       Sr.        Drake

Bryce Washington      6-6       Sr.        Louisiana




Bryan McEldowney

Assistant Athletic Director

Communications and Media Services

Northern Kentucky University


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here