University of Louisville Baseball 2019
Courtesy Louisville Athletics

One day after being named a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, Louisville baseball starting pitcher Reid Detmers added Dick Howser Award semifinalist laurels on Thursday.

Detmers is one of 26 players that made the list based on an official vote by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association membership. The lefthander is the first Cardinal on the semifinalist list since Drew Ellis and Brendan McKay in 2017.

This is the 33rd year of the Dick Howser Trophy. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6. The 2019 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the eighth year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 14, and then, a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2018 CWS.

Detmers was the opening day starter for the Cardinals this season and has been one of the best pitchers in the country. The sophomore enters the final series of the regular season at 10-2 with a 2.59 ERA and 127 strikeouts, leading the ACC in all three categories.

Throughout the 2019 season, Detmers has littered his name throughout the Louisville record book becoming the 13th player to reach 10 wins in a season and currently sitting fifth on the single season strikeout chart.

Following a dominant start to the season, Detmers was named the Midseason National Pitcher of the Year by Perfect Game and Midseason Top Pitcher by D1Baseball. The Chatham, Illinois, native seven starts with double digit strikeouts and has allowed one hit or fewer on four occasions, including taking a no-hitter into the eighth inning against Brown and James Madison.

Detmers has been at the forefront of the Louisville pitching staff that leads the ACC in ERA, WHIP, strikeout-to-walk ratio, shutouts and hits allowed per nine innings.

The Cardinals are back in action on Thursday for the start of a three-game series against Florida State to wrap up the regular season. First pitch is scheduled for 6:00 p.m., ET at Jim Patterson Stadium.

Dick Howser Award Semifinalists

JJ Bleday, OF, Vanderbilt

Hunter Bishop, OF, Arizona State

Reid Detmers, SP, Louisville

Ryan Garcia, SP, UCLA

Nick Gonzales, 2B, New Mexico State

Emerson Hancock, SP, Georgia

Kody Hoese, 3B, Tulane

Josh Jung, 3B, Texas Tech

Chris Lanzilli, OF, Wake Forest

Jake Mangum, OF, Mississippi State

Alek Manoah, SP, West Virginia

Casey Martin, SS, Arkansas

Austin Martin, 3B, Vanderbilt

Kyle McCann, C, Georgia Tech

Patrick McColl, 1B, Harvard

Joey Ortiz, SS, New Mexico State

Jack Ralston, SP, UCLA

Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State

Jake Sanford, OF, Western Kentucky

Bobby Seymour, 1B, Wake Forest

Noah Song, SP, Navy

Zack Thompson, SP, Kentucky

Spencer Torkelson, 1B, Arizona State

Andrew Vaughn, 1B, California

Davis Wendzel, 3B, Baylor

Stephen WilliamsAssistant Sports Information DirectorUniversity of Louisville Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here