University of Kentucky junior tight end C.J. Conrad has been named to the John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List for the third straight season, it was announced Tuesday.

Conrad, a native of LaGrange, Ohio, ranked fourth on the team in receiving in 2016 with 19 catches for 262 yards and four touchdowns. He had a career day vs. New Mexico State, catching five passes for a career-high 133 yards and three touchdowns in the 62-42 win. He became the first player since Dicky Lyons Jr., vs. Florida on Oct. 20, 2007 to have three receiving touchdowns in a game. He also was the first tight end with 100 receiving yards in a game since Jacob Tamme vs. Tennessee on Nov. 24, 2007. The 133 receiving yards are the third-most by a tight end in Kroger Field history.

As a freshman, Conrad was named a third-team Athlon Sports Freshman All-American and earned a spot on the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Team after leading all SEC freshmen tight ends with 15 catches for 149 yards and one score. His best game came at Mississippi State when he caught six passes for 56 yards, while he had two games with three or more catches. Conrad was placed on the John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List and earned honorable mention Mackey Award Tight End of the Week after helping UK defeat No. 25 Missouri with three catches for 55 yards and a TD.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more. Beginning in 2015, The Home Depot College Football Awards will have a new home at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

For more information contact:
Susan Lax