Murray State University Golf 2018
Courtesy Murray State Anthetlics
The Murray State Racers placed a program record four on the 2018 All-Ohio Valley Conference Women’s Golf Team.

The news was announced Monday night at the awards banquet following completion of the first round of the OVC Championship in Muscle Shoals, Alabama at the Shoals Golf Club.

Murray State seniors Moa Folke and Anna Moore were named to the All-OVC Team along with junior Linette Holmslykke and Sophomore Lucila Puente Rodriguez de Austria.

For the first time in the 25 seasons of OVC women’s golf, the Racers placed four players on the team. Four times previous, MSU had three make the list in 1998, 1999, 2012 and 2017.

Folke, from Tranas, Sweden, is the third Racer to be named All-OVC four times following Jenny Daag (1998-2000) and Delaney Howson (2011-14). Folke was the 2017 OVC Player of the Year and entered the OVC Championship with the fourth-best scoring average of 75.4. Moore, from Hopkinsville, Kentucky, was eighth in the OVC with a scoring average of 76.3. Linette Holmslykke, out of Vejle, Denmark, is All-OVC for a second time and had the fifth-best scoring average in the conference at 75.5. She joined Puente Rodriguez on the All-OVC Newcomer Team a year ago. Puente Rodriguez, who was OVC Freshman of the Year in 2017, entered the OVC Tournament third in the league with a 74.9 scoring average.

The Racers were in first place in the OVC Championship after Monday’s opening round. The Racers’ 307 was one shot better than Jacksonville State at 308. The event wraps up Wednesday with the final 18 holes of play. The winner will represent the OVC in the NCAA Tournament.

Dave Winder – Department of Athletics – Murray State ​State University​
Associate AD – Media Relations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here