The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced its 2019 Women’s National Ballot for the John R. Wooden Award® presented by Wendy’s® today on ESPNW. Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the National Ballot consists of 15 student-athletes who are candidates for the Wooden Award All American Team™ and Wooden Award Trophy as the most outstanding college basketball player in the United States.On the Wooden Award National Ballot, three 2018 Wooden Award All Americans™ return to the ballot: Asia Durr of Louisville, Sabrina Ionescu of Oregon, and Katie Lou Samuelson of Connecticut. Connecticut (Napheesa Collier and Samuelson) and Notre Dame (Arike Ogunbowale and Jessica Shepard) are the only schools with multiple players on the ballot. The ACC, Pac-12, and SEC lead all conferences with three selections each, followed by the American, Big 12, and Big Ten with two players apiece.All balloted players have been certified by their university to meet or exceed the qualifications for the Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden when the Award was established. The qualifications include: candidates must exhibit strength of character, both on and off the court; candidates must be full-time students in an accredited NCAA college or university; candidates must be making progress toward graduation and have a cumulative 2.00 grade point average since enrolling in their school; candidates must contribute to team effort; candidates must excel in both offense and defense; and candidates should be considered on their performance over the course of the entire season.Voting will take place from March 19th to March 26th, and voters take into consideration a player’s entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament.The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation’s top five players and the finalists for the Wooden Award, which is widely considered the most prestigious honor in college basketball, will be announced following the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament and will be the focus of a 30-minute show on April 3rd on ESPNU at 6:30pm ET.The 43rd annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award to the men’s and women’s most outstanding college basketball player will be the anchor presentation of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s on ESPN2 on Friday, April 12, 2019. The men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Award All American Team will be honored during the ceremony, and the 2019 Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Trophy will be presented to Lon Kruger, Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Oklahoma. About the John R. Wooden AwardCreated in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation’s best basketball player at an NCAA Division I university who has proven to his or her university that he or she meets or exceeds the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including making progress towards graduation and maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winners include Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07 & ’08), Maya Moore (’09 & ’11), Chiney Ogwumike (’14), and last year’s recipients, A’ja Wilson of South Carolina and Jalen Brunson of Villanova.Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly one million dollars to the universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the Wooden Award All American recipients and has sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.For up-to-date information on the Wooden Award, please go to www.woodenaward.comand follow the Wooden Award on Facebook at and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram. ### John R. Wooden Award Presented By Wendy’s2018-19 Women’s National Ballot NameSchoolConferenceHeightClassPositionKristine AnigweCaliforniaPac-126-4Sr.F/CKalani BrownBaylorBig 126-7Sr.CBridget CarletonIowa StateBig 126-1Sr.GChennedy CarterTexas A&MSEC5-7So.GKaila CharlesMarylandBig Ten6-1Jr.GNapheesa CollierConnecticutAmerican6-2Sr.FSophie CunninghamMissouriSEC6-1Sr.GAsia Durr#LouisvilleACC5-10Sr.GMegan GustafsonIowaBig Ten6-3Sr.FSabrina Ionescu#OregonPac-125-11Jr.GTeaira McCowanMississippi StateSEC6-7Sr.CArike OgunbowaleNotre DameACC5-8Sr.GKatie Lou Samuelson#ConnecticutAmerican6-3Sr.GJessica ShepardNotre DameACC6-4Sr.FAlanna SmithStanfordPac-126-4Sr.F# indicates player selected as 2017-18 John R. Wooden Award All American

John R. Wooden Award  John R. Wooden Award, John R. Wooden Award All American Team, Wooden Award All American Team, Wooden Watch, Wooden Award and the player silhouettes are trademarks or registered trademarks of LAACO, Ltd.  Wendy’s is a registered trademark of Wendy’s International, LLC.  Used with permission. 
-=-=-John R Wooden Award · United States 
This email was sent to To stop receiving emails, click here
You can also keep up with John R. Wooden Award on Twitter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here