Courtesy Murray State Athletics

Three Murray State men’s basketball coaches were named to the list of top coaches at this point in the current century in the Ohio Valley Conference by
In fact, three Racer head coaches made up three of the top-5 in the opinion list of 10 coaches from the OVC that have coached in the fi rst
part of the current century (2000-20).
Current Racer coach Matt McMahon was No. 2 on the list, while former MSU coaches, Mick Cronin (No. 4) and Steve Prohm (No. 5) were
in the top-5.
Five seasons into the Matt McMahon era, the Racers will go into the 2020-21 season trying to extend an amazing recent run of winning the
OVC regular season championship in three-straight seasons. MSU’s three in a row marks the just the fourth time it has been accomplished
in Murray State history. McMahon’s teams won the OVC Tournament twice, which led to a pair of NCAA appearances in 2018 and 2019.
MSU defeated Marquette in 2019 for the program’s fourth win in the Big Dance. The Racers also have an impressive run of three seasons
with a winning streak of at least 10.
McMahon’s teams have been fueled by a pair of OVC Player of the Year winners, Ja Morant and Jonathan Stark. Morant was a consensus
All-America and went on to become the highest draft pick in MSU history and plays for the Memphis Grizzlies. Terrell Miller, Jr., and Shaq
Buchanan were also All-OVC selections and big parts of the Racers run to greatness in the last three seasons.
MSU goes into the 2020-21 season having posted a combined mark of 77-20 (.777) overall and 47-7 (.870) in OVC games in the last three
Coach Cronin led the Racers for three seasons from 2003-06 before he coached at Cincinnati and currently UCLA. Under Cronin’s
guidance, the Racers won the OVC Tournament twice and made two NCAA trips as well as winning the OVC regular season championship
in the 2005-06 season. OVC Player of the Year Cuthbert Victor and All-OVC selection Shawn Witherspoon helped fuel the Racers to 69
wins in Cronin’s three seasons.
Coach Prohm, now leading the program at Iowa State, was an assistant on Billy Kennedy’s staff when the Racers won a game in the 2010
NCAA Tournament. Prohm’s rookie season as head coach of the Racers in 2011-12 is the stuff of legend in the OVC. MSU was the final
undefeated team in NCAA D-I at 23-0 and was ranked in the top-10 in the national polls. The Racers defeated Colorado State in the 2012
NCAA Tournament for their 31st win, which tied a school record. MSU also won the College Insider Tournament in 2014 and enjoyed a
25-game win streak in the 2014-15 season. MSU had a pair of OVC Player of the Year winners and NBA Draft selections in Isaiah Canaan
and Cameron Payne. The Racers won 104 games in Coach Prohm’s four seasons at Murray State.
Check later this week for a deep dive into the amazing feat of Murray State having their last eight head coaches all take
the Racers to the NCAA Tournament.
About Murray State Athletics
Located in Murray, Kentucky, the athletics department at Murray State University is a member of NCAA D-I and plays in the Football
Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 14 programs including men’s teams for baseball, basketball, cross country, football, golf and
women’s teams for basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track & field and volleyball. MSU also has a rifle program that is
coed. The Racers are one of the founding members of the Ohio Valley Conference from its beginnings in 1948. Kevin Saal has served as
director of athletics since March 2019.

Dave Winder – Associate AD – Media Relations
Murray State University


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here