The Murray State women’s golf team began the fall portion of the 2018-19 season Monday with 36 holes of competition at the Payne Stewart Memorial hosted by Missouri State at Twin Oaks Country Club in Springfield, Missouri. 

The Racers carded team scores of 294-298 for a spot in third place at 592, behind first place Memphis and UTEP who’re tied for the lead at 579.
Murray State senior Linette Holmslykke (Pronunciation: HOLMES-Sly-k) played two splendid rounds Monday with rounds of 69-71=140 as she took a share of the lead for the medalist honor in the field of 98 players. Holmslykke, looks for her second win at MSU after she won a share of the Jan Weaver Invitational title in 2017. She is tied with Ana Dawson of Memphis who had scores of 71-69=140.

Other scores for the Racers and standings saw Jane Watts get a spot in 11th place on rounds of 73-74=147 and Raeshya Surendran fired rounds of 76-78=154 for a spot in 35th place. Sarah McDowell and Tayor Church played their first collegiate rounds for the Racers and shared 44th place. McDowell posted scores of 81-75=156 and Church had scores of 76-80=156.
MSU’s Lucila Puente Rodiguez de Austria is playing the event as an individual and was in 27th place (4th among 23 solo players) on scores of 75-77=152.

The Racers led fourth place Wichita State (599) and fifth place Oral Roberts and Missouri State (603). Arkansas State (607), Southern Illinois (618), Oklahoma City (619) and Little Rock (619) made up the rest of the top-10.
Twin Oaks Country Club is playing to a par-71 and a length of 6,001 yards.
Tuesday’s final round is 18 holes with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start.

Dave Winder
Associate AD – Media Relations
Murray State University


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here