Eastern Kentucky University men’s basketball sophomore Nick Mayo was named to the 2017 Lou Henson Award Preseason Watch List on Wednesday. The award is presented to the nation’s top Division I mid-major player.

Mayo is one of only two Ohio Valley Conference student-athletes named to the list, joining Belmont forward, and Preseason OVC Player of the Year, Evan Bradds. The two are accompanied by players from the likes of Gonzaga, Ohio, BYU, UNCW, Yale and Illinois State.

Mayo – a 6-9, 235-pound forward – was voted to the Preseason All-OVC team in late October. He was the only underclassman named to the 11-person team.

In 2015-16, Mayo was tabbed OVC Freshman of the Year and first-team All-OVC. In his first year on the floor for EKU, he made himself known as one of the most dynamic freshmen in the country. He was the only Colonel to start all 31 games, averaging 14.5 points, 4.9 rebounds, 1.1 assists and 1.1 blocks/game, while hitting 60.7 percent from the field (fourth in the conference, 18th nationally), 55.6 percent from three-point range and 80.2 percent from the charity stripe.

The native of Oakland, Maine was named OVC Freshman of the Week nine times during the season, the second-most single-season awards in the history of the award. He became the fourth different Colonel player to be named OVC Freshman of the Year and first since Adam Leonard shared the award in 2006-07. He is one of only two freshmen in the last five years to be named first team All-OVC.

The award’s namesake, Lou Henson, coached college basketball for 41 years. When he left the game in 2005, he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The recipient of the 2017 Lou Henson Award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet on April 31 in Phoenix, Arizona, site of the men’s Division I Basketball Championship.

— www.EKUSports.com —

Steve Fohl
Associate Director of EKUSports Communications