University of Louisville junior defender Tim Kubel and junior forward Mohamed Thiaw were named All-ACC First Team honorees on Tuesday, while junior midfielder Geoffrey Dee and senior midfielder Daniel Johnson were honored as Third Team selections by the league’s men’s soccer head coaches.

The 2016 accolades mark the second time in three seasons four Louisville players have received All-ACC recognition matching the total in 2014 and it is the third straight season multiple Cardinals have earned All-ACC honors. The four All-ACC selections for Louisville rank as the fourth most of any school this season as North Carolina (six), Virginia (five) and Wake Forest (five) paced the way.

Kubel, tabbed as an All-ACC First Team honoree for the second straight season while becoming a three-time All-ACC selection overall, leads the ACC with nine assists to go along with two goals while starting all 18 matches this season for the top-10 ranked Cardinals. Earlier this season, the Stuttgart, Germany native set a school record with four assists in a 6-1 win over Virginia, while his second goal of the season served as the game-winner in Sunday’s 1-0 ACC quarterfinal win over the Cavaliers. In his three seasons at Louisville, Kubel has 14 career goals and 17 total assists in 59 matches.

In his first season with the Cardinals, Thiaw has emerged as one of the nation’s elite scorers ranking ninth in the NCAA with 11 goals and leading the country with seven game-winners. A transfer from Cincinnati State Technical and Community College, Thiaw has started all 18 matches at forward while scoring six of his 11 matches in Louisville’s eight ACC regular season matches.

Dee, who is in his first season with the Cardinals after transferring from Tulsa, connected for two goals and contributed four assists while starting all 18 matches in 2016. Each of the four assists for the Germantown, Tennessee native were delivered against ACC foes, while his lone game-winning goal came on Sept. 13 in the victory against Xavier.

Johnson earned All-ACC recognition for the second consecutive season after receiving Second Team honors in 2015. Hailing from Duluth, Georgia, Johnson scored a pair of goals and added three assists in 18 starts for the Cardinals. In his two seasons with the Louisville after transferring from Maryland, Johnson has accumulated seven goals in 37 starts.

Notre Dame’s Jon Gallagher was named ACC Offensive Player of the Year, Wake Forest’s Ian Harkes was tabbed as Midfielder of the Year, Miles Robinson of Syracuse was chosen as Defensive Player of the Year, North Carolina’s Cam Lindley was honored as Freshman of the Year and Wake Forest’s Bobby Muuss was named Coach of the Year.

The third-seeded and top-10 ranked Louisville men’s soccer team continues its pursuit of an ACC Championship with a semifinal match at No. 2 seed Wake Forest on Wednesday at 7 p.m., ET. The game will be televised on ACC Network Extra with the winner advancing to Sunday’s championship match at MUSC Health Stadium in Charleston, S.C.

Fans can follow Louisville men’s soccer on Twitter (@UofLmenssoccer) at and on Facebook at

Coach of the Year: Bobby Muuss, Wake Forest
Offensive Player of the Year: Jon Gallagher, Notre Dame
Midfielder of the Year: Ian Harkes, Wake Forest
Defensive Player of the Year: Miles Robinson, Syracuse
Freshman of the Year: Cam Lindley, North Carolina

First Team
Zeiko Lewis, Sr., F, Boston College
Tim Kubel, Jr., D, Louisville
Mohamed Thiaw, Jr., F, Louisville
Cam Lindley, Fr., M, North Carolina
Brandon Aubrey, Sr., D, Notre Dame
Jon Gallagher, Jr., F, Notre Dame
Chris Nanco, Sr., F, Syracuse
Miles Robinson, So., D, Syracuse
Alec Ferrell, Sr., G, Wake Forest
Ian Harkes, Sr., M, Wake Forest
Jacori Hayes, Sr., M, Wake Forest

Second Team
Diego Campos, Jr., F, Clemson
Oliver Shannon, Jr., M, Clemson
Brian White, Jr., F, Duke
Colton Storm, Sr., D, North Carolina
Alan Winn, Jr., F, North Carolina
Zach Wright, Jr., F, North Carolina
Julius Duchscherer, So., M, NC State
Pablo Aguilar, Jr., M, Virginia
Jeff Caldwell, Jr., G, Virginia
Edward Opoku, So., F, Virginia
Marcelo Acuna, Jr., F, Virginia Tech

Third Team
Patrick Bunk-Andersen, So., D, Clemson
Geoffrey Dee, Jr., M, Louisville
Daniel Johnson, Sr., M, Louisville
Walker Hume, Sr., D, North Carolina
James Pyle, So., G, North Carolina
Evan Panken, Gr., M, Notre Dame
Mo Adams, Fr., M, Syracuse
Jean-Christophe Koffi, So., M, Virginia
Sergi Nus, So., D, Virginia
Brad Dunwell, So., M, Wake Forest
Kevin Politz, Jr., D, Wake Forest

All-Freshman Team
Lasse Lehmann, Fr., M, Boston College
Malick Mbaye, Fr., D, Clemson
Tanner Dieterich, Fr., D, Clemson
Suniel Veerakone, Fr., M, Duke
Max Moser, Fr., M, Duke
Cam Lindley, Fr., M, North Carolina
Mauricio Pineda, Fr., M, North Carolina
Tommy McCabe, Fr., M, Notre Dame
Mo Adams, Fr., M, Syracuse
Robin Afamefuna, Fr., D, Virginia
Terrell Lowe, Fr., M, Virginia
Ema Twumasi, Fr., M, Wake Forest


Garett Wall
Assistant Sports Information Director
University of Louisville