The University of Louisville men’s swimming team finished 11th at the 2017 NCAA Men’s National Championships Saturday night at the IU Natatorium on the campus of IUPUI.

Texas dominated the meet with 542 for the win, followed by California (349), Florida 294.5), NC State (272.5), Stanford (242), USC( 237), Indiana (229.5), Georgia (183), Missouri (179.5) Alabama (153.5) and Louisvlle (143.5).

“We competed hard all meet, seven tough sessions,” said UofL head coach Arthur Albiero. “It is hard to be disappointed with six school records, but ultimately we fell short of our team goal of a top ten finish by a few points. We will learn and get better. The 2018 season has already started.”

Marcelo Acosta put up 14:39.79 in the 1650 free to finish tenth to earn honorable mention All American honors. He set the school record for the 1000 in the first portion of the race, so fast was the field. The top 4 swimmers posted the fastest swims of all time. The event was won by Clark Smith of Texas, who put up a 14:22.41 followed by Michigan’s Felix Auboek (14.22.80), Akaram Mahmoud (14:22.99) and Jordan Wilimovsky of Northwestern (14:23.45) were the top four who were all under the record which was set by Connor Jaeger at the 2014 USA Winter National Championships.

In the 200 backstroke, senior Grigory Tarasevich, a Rio Olympian, swam his last individual race as a Cardinal. The prodigious point scorer touched fifth with a 1:39.79. The event was won by Cal’s Ryan Murphy, who boarded a pool record 1:36.75 followed by John Shebat’s 1:37.24.
In the 100 free Florida’s Caeleb Dressel went 40.00 to set the American, NCAA and meet record for the win.

In the 200 breast, Carlos Claverie finished fifth in the 200 breaststroke with a strong charge on the last lap making up two spots after swimming in 7th most of the race to post a 1:52.81. Will Licon of Texas won in 1:47.91 an NCAA, Meet and American Record.

Zach Harting touched third in 1:41.65 in a hotly-contested finish in the 200 fly. The A-final was won by Texas’ Jack Conger, who put up an NCAA, Meet, and American record in 1:37.35.

Texas won the 400 free relay with a time of 2:47.78 put up by Jeremy Nichols, Brett Ringgold, Tate Jackson, and Townley Haas.

UofL records: Grigory Tarasevich (100-, 200-back),
Zach Harting (200 fly)
Marcelo Acosta (1000 free)
200 Freestyle Relay
400 Medley Relay

Nancy Allison Worley
Associate Director, Sports Information
University of Louisville Athletics