Four Eastern Kentucky University football players were recently chosen to the Community Trust Bank 2017 Kentucky’s Collegiate All-Commonwealth Team presented by the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame. Those four are Keith Wrzuszczak, Jeffrey Canady, Kobie Grace and Thomas Owens.

The Kentucky Collegiate All-Commonwealth Team is a pre-season recognition award for football players attending a Kentucky college or university. The All-Commonwealth Team represents the best college football players that the state of Kentucky has to offer.

Wrzuszczak is a senior punter from Geelong, Victoria, Australia. He punted the ball 59 times last season with an average of 42.1 yards per punt, ranking third in the conference. His longest punt on the year was 63 yards and he had seven punts travel over 50 yards.

Canady, a redshirt senior linebacker from Barbourville, Kentucky, started all 11 games and was second in the conference with 123 tackles last season. He was also fourth on the team with five tackles for loss. He recorded one and a half sacks and three quarterback hurries.

Grace also started all 11 games for the Colonels. The Winter Park, Florida native was fourth on the team with 57 tackles. He recorded one tackle for loss.

Thomas Owens, a Cincinnati, Ohio native, recorded seven tackles and a pass break up in the season opener at Purdue. He also recorded three tackles and a half sack against Pikeville but was sidelined with a season-ending injury. His appeal for a sixth year of eligibility was recently denied.

The Eastern Kentucky University football program has won two national championships, 21 conference titles and has made 21 playoff appearances. No other Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) team has won more conference championships.

The Colonels will open their 2017 season at Western Kentucky on Sept. 2 at 7 p.m. ET. Eastern’s first home game is slated for Sept. 23 against Tennessee Tech. For season ticket information, contact the EKU Athletics Ticket Office at 859-622-2122.

— —

Kevin Britton
Assistant Athletics Director for Communications & Branding