On Wednesday, the Ohio Valley Conference honored 25 Murray State student-athletes with the OVC Academic Medal of Honor for the 2016-17 academic year.

The OVC Academic Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athletes who achieves the highest grade point average in a conference-sponsored sport. Every Academic Medal of Honor recipient for the 2016-17 academic year carried a perfect 4.0 GPA.

A total of 221 student-athletes received the honor Wednesday, the second-most in a single academic year in the history of the award. Over the past five years, there have been 1,060 student-athletes earn the OVC Academic Medal of Honor.

Later this week, the league will announce the recipients of the Commissioner’s Honor Roll and the Academic Achievement Award and the Team Academic Achievement Awards next week.

2016-17 OVC Medal of Honor

Murray State Honorees
John Lollar
Trevor McMurray

Basketball (Women)
Katie Mackenzie

Cross Country (Men)
Austin Ackman
Gavin Davies
Gavin Galanes

James Sappington
Zach Shipley
Mitch Stults

Golf (Men)
Cole Manion

Golf (Women)
Moa Folke
Linette Holmslykke

Meike Drewell
Ivan Roe

Leah Kesel
Mason Robinson
Jessica Twaddle
Amber Van Duyse
Mallory Young

Sara Bjork

Track and Field
Chleo LeGrand

Dacia Brown
Scottie Ingram
Ellie Lorenz
Hannah Stultz

by Kevin DeVries