Avery Edwards fired rounds of 68-67 to lead the Murray State men’s golf squad to a spot in first place after 36 holes of their own MSU Invitational at Miller Memorial Golf Course in Murray, Kentucky.

The Racers had a three-shot lead on UT Martin as play heads into the final round on Tuesday morning, when the field of 14 teams and 89 players is expected to play in the rain, which is the final effects of Hurricane Irma.

Murray State had scores of 279-286=565 and were being chased by the Skyhawks who had scores of 287-281=568.

Edwards, a Racer sophomore, was in second place in the medalist race after scores of 68-67=135. He was three shots off the pace of UTM’s Hunter Richardson who posted scores of 68-64=132.

Other Murray State scores included Austin Knight in fifth place after rounds of 67-72=139. Gabe Wheeler and Justin Wendling shared 28th place. Wheeler had scores of 72-74=146, while Wendling posted rounds of 72-74=146. Lance Davis was in 42nd place after rounds of 75-73=148.
MSU’s Quinn Eaton was in 46th place and was sixth among 20 individuals in the field after rounds of 75-74=149. Connor Coombs was in 50th place after scores of 76-74=150 and Cole Manion had rounds of 80-72=152 and was in 60th place. Rhett Cardwell was in 82nd place with scores of 76-83=159.

Western Illinois (571) was in third place while Tennessee State (573), Morehead State (574) and Austin Peay (577) made up the top six squads.

Round Two Notes
Final round play begins Tuesday morning at 9 a.m. and it will likely be played in rain. The Miller course is rather dry and can take some rain. Any delay would be decided on how much rain falls and how fast it accumulates.

The toughest hole that Miller threw at the field today was the par-4 5th hole. At only 383 yards, it did indeed play nearly two-thirds of a stroke over par for the first 36 holes. The easiest hole was the par-5 17th hole. At a reachable 514 yards, it played more than a stroke under par. The 17th gave up 14 eagles on the day, including one to Murray State’s Lance Davis in round one and another to Racer junior Gabe Wheeler in round two.

MSU’s Avery Edwards will be trying to become the first Racer to win the title since Preston French in 2013. The Racers have won five such honors in the 14 years of the event.

If MSU can hang on to win the team title, it will be their first since 2015 and 10th overall in their annual fall event.

Dave Winder – Department of Athletics – Murray State ​State University​
Associate AD – Media Relations