The Horizon League announced the women’s soccer 2017 regular season awards this afternoon. Northern Kentucky women’s soccer student-athlete Macy Hamblin was named the Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year for the third-consecutive season. Joining Hamblin on the First Team for the third-straight year was Jessica Frey, and Taylor Spaulding earned Second Team All-League honors for the first time in her career.

“Congratulations to Macy, Jess, and Taylor on earning these prestigious awards,” stated NKU head coach Bob Sheehan. “Macy and Jess have been key players in our attack for the past four years, and Taylor has led our defense for the past three years.”

Hamblin is now the second player in Horizon League history to earn three Player of the Year honors. She joins Milwaukee’s Sarah Hagen, who accomplished the feat from 2009-2011. Hamblin led the Horizon League this season in goals (10), points per match (1.64), goals per match (0.71), and shots per match (4.71).

Frey earned First Team All-Horizon League honors for the third time in her career. She also led the Horizon League with 10 goals this season. Frey finished second in the League in points (24), points per match (1.50), goals per match (0.63), and game-winning goals (4). Earlier this year, Frey was named to the Horizon League All-Academic team for the third-consecutive time. She was also one of 30 candidates for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award.

Spaulding has been a key component of the Norse defense. This season, she has started all 16 matches for NKU. She leads the team with 1,477 minutes played and has helped the Norse to three shutouts this season.

NKU will head to the Horizon League Tournament semifinals in Milwaukee on Thursday, Nov. 2. Kickoff is scheduled for 5 p.m. ET/4 p.m. CT, and the opponent will be determined based on how today’s quarterfinal matches play out.

Player of the Year
Macy Hamblin, Northern Kentucky

Offensive Player of the Year
Macy Hamblin, Northern Kentucky

Defensive Player of the Year
Kelli Swenson, Milwaukee

Freshman of the Year
Jenna Prathapa, Cleveland State

Coach of the Year
Troy Fabiano, Milwaukee

First Team All-League
Macy Hamblin, Northern Kentucky
Jessica Frey, Northern Kentucky
Lourdes Onwuemeka, Milwaukee
Krissy Kirkhoff, IUPUI
Anna Smalley, Milwaukee
Aubrey Krahn, Milwuakee
Rachel DeLuca, Detroit Mercy
Cassidy Blanchard, Milwuakee
Sara Colvin, Wright State
Kelli Swenson, Milwaukee
Sophia Lipka, GK, IUPUI

Second Team All-League
Niki Romero, Wright State
Alex Zeller, Green Bay
Aaliyah Patten, Wright State
Hayley Shelton, IUPUI
Olivia Everin, UIC
Mattie Cutts, Wright State
Taylor Spaulding, Northern Kentucky
Alliani Lorenzo, Cleveland State
McKenna Vento, Cleveland State
Tamae Douglas, UIC
Mallory Geurts, GK, Milwaukee

All-Freshmen Team
Jenna Prathapa, Cleveland State
Taylor Tabbert, Milwaukee
Valentine Pursey, IUPUI
Erin Graefin, Wright State
Natalie McNally, IUPUI
Kelli Doyle, Detroit Mercy
Mackenzie Schill, Milwaukee
Ashlin West, UIC
Grace Grant, Cleveland State
Miranda Ricks, IUPUI
Sydney Ossege, Youngtown State
Emily Simmons, Green Bay


Ryan Wilker
Northern Kentucky University
Athletic Communications Graduate Assistant