Murray State’s Jonathan Stark has been honored by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. The senior point guard from Munford, Tenn., is part of the USBWA’s All-District IV team that is selected from NCAA D-I teams in Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia and Florida.

The Racers (26-5) are preparing for their 16th NCAA Tournament appearance after taking the OVC Tournament over the weekend.

Stark, the Ohio Valley Conference Player of the Year and OVC Tournament MVP, led the league in scoring (16th NCAA) for a second-straight season at 21.8 points per game. He also topped his 2017 MSU record of 108 3-point baskets, as he has 109 entering the NCAA Tournament. Stark is seventh in the nation with 3.52 made 3-pointers and eighth with that total of 109. His 3-point percentage (.410) is 61st in the nation. Stark is the all-time leader in scoring for two-year players at Murray State with 1,399 points. Add in his two-year statistics from Tulane (2013-15) and Stark is the only active player in the nation with more than 2,200 points and 550 assists.

The USBWA’s All-District Teams are based on voting from its more than 900 national membership. The USBWA has selected All-District Teams since the 1956-57 season, its founding year. There are nine geographic districts, ten players are selected (11 or 12 in the case of ties) as well as a player and coach of the year.

Yante Maten, Georgia

Rick Barnes, Tennessee

Bryce Brown, Auburn
Chris Chiozza, Florida
Shai Gilgeous-Alexander, Kentucky
Jared Harper, Auburn
Nick King, Middle Tennessee
Kevin Knox, Kentucky
Yante Maten, Georgia
Collin Sexton, Alabama
Jonathan Stark, Murray State
Grant Williams, Tennessee

The Racers are all set to find out their 2018 NCAA Tournament assignment this weekend. Click here for details on how you can enjoy the fun in person or listening to radio or watching on Facebook.

Dave Winder – Department of Athletics – Murray State ​State University​
Associate AD – Media Relations


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here