Shuler Bentley, Silas Owens, Marquez Sanford and Kenney Wooten were honored as part of the 2018 All-Commonwealth Team presented by the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of Fame Friday night at The Lexington Opera House, as part of the organization’s annual induction ceremony.

The evening began with Bentley and Wooten, the Racers’ representatives for the evening, taking to the red carpet and answering questions on Facebook live. After the red carpet arrivals, the ceremony began with the presentation of the All-Commonwealth team on the stage that included members from every four-collegiate football team in the state of Kentucky.

After Bentley, Owens and Wooten got their stage time, induction ceremony itself began with Eastern Kentucky’ (Pittsburgh Steelers, Los Angeles Rams, Dallas Cowboys) Tim Lester, Louisville’s Ernest Givens (Houston Oilers, Jacksonville Jaguars), Kentucky’s Wesley Woodyard (Denver Broncos, Tennessee Titans), as well as former NFL referee Tommy Bell (Kentucky) and former Kentucky head coach Guy Morriss (Philadelphia Eagles) all entering the Kentucky Pro Football Hall of the Fame. Kentucky is the only state to have its own pro football hall of fame and all players that played high school or college football in the Commonwealth then went on to play, coach or referee in the NFL for five or more years are eligible.

Following the inductions, the evening ended when the Blanton Collier Award for Integrity award was presented to former Steeler, Super Bowl Champion and Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Jerome Bettis.

by Parker Griffith