Magnus Bertilsson’s body of work may have been limited due to injury, but the Bellarmine University sophomore midfielder still made a strong impression on the Great Lakes Valley Conference’s coaches.

Bertilsson was named third-team All-GLVC after recording two goals and two assists for the Knights as a holding midfielder, the league announced Thursday night.

Bellarmine Coach Tim Chastonay said Bertilsson was effective despite sustaining an injury in the preseason and then a few during the regular season that forced him to miss three matches and robbed him from a fitness standpoint.

“We were definitely a different team without him on the field,” Chastonay noted. “Magnus has very good vision and passes very well. He is terrific on set pieces and is dangerous in the air with his size.”

Bertilsson notched the game-winning goal in a 2-1 victory over Maryville. He also scored in the season opener against Davis & Elkins. The native of Varberg, Sweden, collected assists against Quincy and Drury.

“If Magnus is able to stay healthy, he will be a big difference-maker for our program over the next two years,” Chastonay said. “I’m sure he is going to work hard in the offseason to get healthy and improve. I look for him to have a big year for us in 2017.”

Rockhurst secured three of the major awards: Offensive Player of the Year (Kaleb Jackson); Defensive Player of the Year (Connor Mullen); and Coach of the Year (Tony Tocco). Southern Indiana’s Eric Ramirez was voted Freshman of the Year.

For more coverage of Bellarmine athletics, follow us on Twitter (@BUKnights), Instagram (BUKnights), Facebook (BUKnights) and the BUKnights mobile app available for iPhone and Android.

Offensive Player of the Year
Kaleb Jackson, B, Jr., RU
Defensive Player of the Year
Connor Mullen, MF, Jr., RU
Freshman of the Year
Eric Ramirez, F, Fr., USI
Coach of the Year
Tony Tocco, RU

Ben Bruce, F, Jr., DU
David Cross, B, Sr., DU
Antoine Vial, MF, So., DU
Felipe Andrade, F, Jr., S&T#
Joe Rund, B, Sr., UMSL
Taylor Reis, MF, Sr., QU
Gianluca Bottoni, MF, Sr., RU
Evan Craig, B, Sr., RU
Kaleb Jackson, F, Jr., RU#
Eric Ramirez, F, Fr., USI
Adam Zehme, GK, Jr., USI

Charles Guelly, F, Jr., DU
Mitch Morris, B, Sr., S&T
Unnar Ulfarsson, MF, So., S&T
Jack Filla, GK, Sr., UMSL
Pat Ries, F, Jr., UMSL
Artan Emini, F, Jr., QU
Eddie Plesha, F, So., QU
Matt Collier, B, Sr., RU
Adam Michel, MF, Jr., RU
Kyle Richardville, MF, Jr., USI
Michael Sass, B, Sr., USI

Magnus Bertilsson, MF, So., BU
Zach Allevi, F, Sr., UIS
Jake Meyer, F, Sr., UINDY
Casey Zimmerman, MF, Sr., UINDY
Nico Mueller, F, Jr., LEWIS
Pontus Gitselov, F, Fr., MU
Christian Kiaersgaard, GK, So., MU
Robbie Tays, B, Sr., QU
Paul Dean, B, Sr., RU
Connor Mullen, MF, Jr., RU
Filippo Santandrea, B, Jr., RU
# Unanimous Selection