University of Louisville women’s basketball senior guard Dana Evans has been selected as a 2020-21 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) First Team All-American.

Evans, the lone senior on the first team as well as her own Louisville squad, was the ACC’s Player of the Year for a second straight season after leading the league in scoring (20.1 ppg) and was second in free throw percentage (87.3). She guided the Cardinals (26-4) to a fourth straight regular-season title and a third straight NCAA Elite Eight appearance.

A second-team selection last year, Evans is Louisville’s third repeat All-American (Asia Durr, 2018 and ’19) and Angel McCoughtry (2008 and ’09) and its seventh all-time selection as the Cardinals join UConn and Baylor with multiple players earning All-America honors in the past four seasons.

Six different conferences are represented on a team the USBWA composed into three units for a third consecutive season. Due to a tie in the voting, 16 players are being honored as All-Americans with six players making up the first team. There are six seniors on the team – with Evans the only senior on the first team – to go with six juniors, two sophomores and the pair of freshmen.

Evans is also one of three repeat All-Americans, joined by sophomore forward Aliyah Boston of South Carolina and junior guard Rhyne Howard of Kentucky. The remainder of the first team is UConn freshman guard Paige Bueckers, Iowa freshman guard Caitlin Clark and Michigan junior forward Naz Hillman.

The six first-team members are vying for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award as the USBWA’s National Player of the Year which, will be announced on Sunday.

For the latest on Louisville women’s basketball, visit, follow the team’s Twitter account at @UofLWBB or on Facebook at

Nick Evans
Asst. Sports Information DirectorWomen’s Basketball, Women’s Lacrosse, Women’s Soccer
University of Louisville Athletics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here