WKU Baseball’s Jackson Sowell on NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award Watch List

The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) announced Monday afternoon that WKU graduate senior RHP Jackson Sowell was named one of 60 players on the initial Watch List for the 13th annual Stopper of the Year Award, given to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

“It’s an honor to be recognized by the Stopper of the Year Award for the 2017 season,” Sowell said. “It’s a new season and we have postseason goals. It will take a total team effort to reach and exceed those goals, and I’m excited to be part of that process.”

Sowell has been dominant in the WKU bullpen over the past three years, with a 1.59 ERA and 51 strikeouts in 45.1 innings. He led the team with eight saves in 2016 and headlines the team’s group of relievers once again with the Toppers beginning the 2017 season Friday, Feb. 17 vs. Valparaiso at Nick Denes Field.

The Bowling Green native is one of four Conference USA players on the Watch List, along with Glenn Otto (Jr., Rice), Cameron Ragsdale (Sr., Florida Atlantic) and Nick Sandlin (So., Southern Miss). Previous winners of the Stopper of the Year Award include Major League RHP Addison Reed (2009, San Diego State) and most recently Bryan Garcia (2016, Miami (Fla.)).
How to Follow the Hilltoppers: For complete information on WKU Hilltopper Baseball, follow the program via social media @WKUBaseball on Snapchat, Twitter, Instagram & Facebook.
Bryan Fyalkowski
Assistant Director of Media Relations
WKU Hilltopper Athletics

Recent Articles


Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox