Louisville’s MBB’s Donovan Mitchell Earns First Team All-ACC Honors

University of Louisville sophomore guard Donovan Mitchell has been named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference five-man first team in a vote by league coaches and media.

The Greenwich, Conn. product was also selected to the ACC All-Defensive team after leading the conference in steals (66, 2.13 per game, 18th in the nation). He is within eight steals of the UofL top ten for a season.

Joining Mitchell on the All-ACC first team are Duke guard Luke Kennard, North Carolina guard Justin Jackson, Wake Forest forward John Collins and Notre Dame forward Bonzie Colson. Kennard was a unanimous selection, while Jackson was chosen as the ACC Player of the Year.

Mitchell leads the Cardinals in scoring (15.9 ppg), steals, three-point goals and minutes played (31.9 per game). His 76 three-pointers is tied for the ninth-most in a single season at Louisville. Since scoring 25 points against Indiana on New Year’s Eve, Mitchell has averaged 19.1 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.1 assists and made 41.7 percent of his three point shots (55-of-132). His 18.1 scoring average in ACC games is the sixth-best in the league. He totaled 20 points, five rebounds and two steals in the Cardinals’ regular season finale against Notre Dame on Saturday, his ninth game this season with 20 or more points.

Georgia Tech forward Ben Lammers was selected as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, NC State guard Dennis Smith was honored as the ACC Freshman of the Year, Virginia Tech guard Seth Allen was the ACC Sixth Man of the Year and Collins was recognized as the ACC Most Improved Player. Georgia Tech Coach Josh Pastner was recognized as the ACC Coach of the Year.

The complete list of All-ACC basketball honors is listed below.

2017 All-ACC Basketball Honors

First Team (name, school)
Luke Kennard, Duke
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
John Collins, Wake Forest
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
Donovan Mitchell, Louisville

Second Team
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Dennis Smith, NC State
Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
London Perrantes, Virginia

Third Team
Michael Young, Pittsburgh
Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson
Andrew White, Syracuse
Davon Reed, Miami
Jayson Tatum, Duke

Honorable Mention
Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina
Matt Farrell, Notre Dame
Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech
Jerome Robinson, Boston College
Jonathan Isaac, Florida State
Seth Allen, Virginia Tech
Jamel Artis, Pittsburgh
V.J. Beachem, Notre Dame
Steve Vasturia, Notre Dame
Tyler Lydon, Syracuse

All-Defensive Team
Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech
Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia
Donovan Mitchell, Louisville
Davon Reed, Miami
Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Florida State
Matt Jones, Duke

All-Freshman Team
Dennis Smith, NC State
Jonathan Isaac, Florida State
Jayson Tatum, Duke
Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech
Ky Bowman, Boston College

ACC Player of the Year
Justin Jackson, North Carolina

ACC Freshman of the Year
Dennis Smith, NC State

ACC Coach of the Year
Josh Pastner, Georgia Tech

ACC Defensive Player of the Year
Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech

ACC Most Improved
John Collins, Wake Forest

ACC Sixth Man of the Year
Seth Allen, Virginia Tech

Recent Articles


Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox