Murray State Soccer Not Enough for IUPUI

Led by five saves from Jenna Villacres, Murray State (0-5-1) fell to IUPUI 2-0 on Thursday night in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Jaguars would net a goal in each half to pull ahead of the Racers on the night.

Seniors Lauren Payne and Marti Floyd provided the best offensive chances of the night for MSU with Payne putting two shots on target and Floyd putting up one. In total, Murray State would take five shots and earn a corner kick in the contest.

After some tough deflections inside the 18-yard box, IUPUI would push two goals across. Villacres was able to scoop up five of the seven shots on goal from the Jaguars.

MSU will be back in action on Sunday when they host Lindenwood for Senior Day at Cutchin Field, first touch is scheduled for 1 p.m.

Racers Rally Program

Murray State Athletics launched the Racers Rally program, a great way for businesses to become partners with the Racers to be part of Racer Nation. Membership for the Racer Rally program is free and businesses can sign up online. Benefits of joining the Racer Rally Program include: yard signs, team schedule posters and window stickers. Murray State Athletics will deliver promotional items to each business that participates in the Racer Rally program. Sign Up

Jordan Smith Concert – CFSB Center
Murray State Athletics and the CFSB Center are proud to announce that The Voice Winner and Kentucky Native, Jordan Smith, will bring his talents to the CFSB Center on Saturday, September 17, 2022. The concert is being organized by KentuckyCare as part of their Hope, Healing, & Restore Concert Series. Smith is an American singer, songwriter, and musician from Harlan, Kentucky. Smith began singing in his church choir and continued through his college education at Lee University. Tickets start at $20 and are available on

2022 Hall of Fame Dinner & Program
The annual Hall of Fame dinner is on the night of Nov. 11 at the CFSB Center. The 2022 class will also be recognized Nov. 12 at the Racer football game against Robert Morris (1 p.m. kick off) and a men’s basketball game against a yet to be determined opponent. Hall of Fame dinner tickets may be purchased through the MSU ticket office online at
About Murray State Athletics
Located in Murray, Kentucky, the athletics department of Murray State University is a NCAA Division I member and plays in the Football Championship Subdivision. The Racers have 15 programs including men’s teams for baseball, basketball, cross country, football and golf and women’s teams for basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, track & field and volleyball, as well as a mixed gender rifle team. The Racers became members of the Missouri Valley Conference on July 1, 2022. The Racers will become a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference in 2023. The MSU rifle program competes in the Ohio Valley Conference.

About Murray State University
Since 1922, Murray State University has provided a collaborative, opportunity-rich living and learning community that fosters personal growth and professional success through a high-quality college experience. Students receive support from inspiring faculty and staff and will join a distinctive campus community — the Racer Family. With nearly 10,000 students, Murray State prepares the next generation of leaders to join more than 80,000 successful alumni who make a difference in their community, across the country and around the world. We are Racers. The University’s main campus is located in Murray, Kentucky, and includes five regional campuses in Ft. Campbell, Henderson, Hopkinsville, Madisonville and Paducah.

About the Missouri Valley Conference
The Missouri Valley Conference — the nation’s second-oldest NCAA Division I conference celebrates its 116th season in 2022-23.  For the first time, the MVC will have 12 members as Belmont, UIC, and Murray State officially joined the Conference on July 1, 2022.  It marks the first time the Conference has admitted three schools for the same season.  Notably, MVC membership will stand at a league-high 12 members for the first time. League members include Belmont, Bradley, Drake, Evansville, UIC, Illinois State, Indiana State, Missouri State, Murray State, Northern Iowa, Southern Illinois, and Valparaiso.  Little Rock is an affiliate member in women’s swimming and diving; and SIU Edwardsville is an affiliate member in men’s soccer. The seeds for the creation of the Conference were planted by eight administrators representing five institutions, who met at the Midland Hotel in Kansas City, Mo., on Jan. 12, 1907.  The five schools which formed the Missouri Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Association were Washington University of St. Louis, and the state universities of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.  Two months after the initial meeting, two more schools — Drake University and Iowa State College — were admitted. While The Valley no longer sponsors football (it did from 1907-85), seven league members compete in the sport at the FCS (Football Championship Subdivision) level as Illinois State, Indiana State, Missouri State, UNI and Southern Illinois play in the 11-member Missouri Valley Football Conference (with North Dakota, North Dakota State, South Dakota, South Dakota State, Western Illinois and Youngstown State).  That league competed as the Gateway Conference from 1985-2007.

Recent Articles


Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox