Louisville Cardinals FB Bryan Hudson Wins Jacobs Blocking Trophy


University of Louisville center Bryan Hudson has been voted the winner of the 2023 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, the Atlantic Coast Conference announced on Monday.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy is given annually to the ACC’s most outstanding blocker, as selected by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. Hudson, a redshirt senior from Georgetown, Kentucky, guided the Cardinals to a trip to the 2023 ACC Football Championship Game and has played in 58 games over his collegiate career. He is the second Louisville player to win the award since the school joined the ACC in 2014, the first being Mekhi Becton in 2019.

“Bryan is very deserving of this honor,” said Louisville head coach Jeff Brohm. “To be voted the most outstanding lineman by your peers is an incredible tribute to Bryan’s dedication and ability as a football player. He has obviously been one of our best and most consistent players this season.”

Hudson has played over 780 snaps this season, totaling 50 knockdowns and not allowing a sack. He was named the ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week on Sept. 25.

Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy
1953                 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1954                 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina
1955                 Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland
1956                 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1957                 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke
1958                 John Saunders, FB, South Carolina
1959                 Doug Cline, FB, Clemson
1960                 Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke
1961                 Art Gregory, T, Duke
                         Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina
1962                 Art Gregory, T, Duke
1963                 Chuck Walker, T, Duke
1964                 Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina
1965                 John McNabb, G, Duke
1966                 Wayne Mass, T, Clemson
1967                 Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson
1968                 Greg Shelly, T, Virginia
1969                 Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland
1970                 Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia
1971                 Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina
1972                 Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina
1973                 Bill Yoest, G, NC State
1974                 Ken Huff, G, North Carolina
1975                 Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1976                 Billy Bryan, C, Duke
1977                 Joe Bostic, G, Clemson
1978                 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1979                 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State
1980                 Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina
1981                 Lee Nanney, T, Clemson
1982                 Dave Pacella, T, Maryland
1983                 James Farr, G, Clemson
1984                 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1985                 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
1986                 Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest
1987                 John Phillips, G, Clemson
1988                 Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina
1989                 Chris Port, T, Duke
1990                 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1991                 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia
1992                 Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest
1993                 Mark Dixon, G, Virginia
1994                 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1995                 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State
1996                 no recipient
1997                 Tra Thomas, T, Florida State
1998                 Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech
1999                 John St. Clair, C, Virginia
2000     Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State
2001                 Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2002                 Brett Williams, T, Florida State
2003                 Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2004                 Elton Brown, G, Virginia
2005                 Eric Winston, T, Miami
2006                 Josh Beekman, G/C, Boston College
2007                 Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest
2008                 Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia
2009                 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2010                 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State
2011     Blake DeChristopher, T, Virginia Tech
2012                 Jonathan Cooper, G, North Carolina
2013                 Cameron Erving, T, Florida State
2014                 Cameron Erving, T/C, Florida State
2015                 Roderick Johnson, T, Florida State
2016                 Roderick Jo hnson, T, Florida State
2017                 Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
2018                 Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson
2019                 Mekhi Becton, T, Louisville
2020                 Liam Eichenberg, T, Notre Dame
2021     Ikem Ekwonu, T, NC State
2022     Jordan McFadden, T, Clemson

2023     Bryan Hudson, C, Louisville